Car Specs Lookup

Honda Accord battery size

Battery group size
H6 / H5 / 51
Depends on engine / version
2020 Honda Accord · 3 versions: see the table below
500–620 CCA min, by version Type not specified: match your current battery
2018-2020 Honda Accord (photo)
Shown: 2018–2020 Honda Accord, 10th gen. Trim shown may differ. Photo: Bull-Doser, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

All verified years: Group 35 (2000–2007, 2012–2013) · Group 24 (2000–2002) · Group 51R (2003–2007, 2012–2017) · Group 24F (2008–2017) · Group 51 (2014–2015, 2017–2020) · Group H5 (47) (2018–2020) · Group H6 (48) (2019–2020)

Pick your model year:
YearsEngine / versionGroup sizeMin. CCAType
2019–2020 2.0L turbo Group H6 (48) 620 –
2018–2020 1.5L turbo Group H5 (47) 540 –
2017–2020 2.0L Hybrid Group 51 500 –
2014–2017 2.4L 4-cylUS Group 51R 410 –
2008–2017 3.5L V6 Group 24F 550 –
2014–2015 2.0L Hybrid Group 51 500 –
2012–2013 2.4L 4-cylUS, except California Group 51R 410 –
2012–2013 2.4L 4-cylCalifornia Group 35 440 –
2003–2007 2.4L 4-cyl Group 51R 435 –
2003–2007 3.0L V6 Group 35 440 –
2000–2002 2.3L 4-cyl Group 35 450 –
2000–2002 3.0L V6 Group 24 500 –

– = not specified in our sources (hover for details): match the CCA or type on the battery in your car now. Last verified 2026-10-19; sources are listed below.

Check your car first

Confirm in your owner's manual. Battery fitment can change with engine, trim, option packages, market (US vs. Canada) and mid-year production changes. Before you buy, check the label on the battery that's in your car now and your owner's manual.

Sources for each row

Years / engineChecked against
2019–2020 2.0L turboMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2018–2020 1.5L turboMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2017–2020 2.0L HybridMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2014–2017 2.4L 4-cyl (US)Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2008–2017 3.5L V6Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2014–2015 2.0L HybridMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2012–2013 2.4L 4-cyl (US, except California)Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2012–2013 2.4L 4-cyl (California)Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2003–2007 2.4L 4-cylMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2003–2007 3.0L V6Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2000–2002 2.3L 4-cylMopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries
2000–2002 3.0L V6Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International; Interstate Batteries

Full source list: 2021 Mopar Batteries Application Guide (BCI replacement data) (checked 2026-10-21) · Interstate Batteries Application Guide 2023 (2000-2023 model years) (checked 2026-10-21). We store facts and links only; we don't copy manuals or guides. How we check specs.

How to replace the battery

Tools: 10 mm wrench or socket (some hold-downs need 12 or 13 mm or an extension), gloves, eye protection, terminal brush. Time: about 15–30 minutes for an under-hood battery; longer if it's in the trunk or under a seat.

  1. Park, turn everything off and take the key or fob out of the car.
  2. Disconnect the negative (–) cable first, then the positive (+).
  3. Remove the hold-down and lift the battery out. Batteries are heavy (often 35–60 lb); lift with your legs.
  4. Clean the tray and cable ends. Set in the new battery with the posts on the same sides as the old one.
  5. Fit the hold-down, connect positive (+) first, then negative (–). Tighten until the clamps don't twist by hand.
  6. If your car has a vent tube on the battery (common for trunk or cabin batteries), reconnect it.
  7. Start the car. Some newer vehicles with a battery monitor need a reset or registration after a new battery. Your owner's manual explains it; a parts store or dealer can do it if needed.

Most parts stores take old batteries for recycling and usually refund a core charge.

Recalls for the Honda Accord (2000–2020)

NHTSA lists 73 recall campaigns across the years shown on this page (all components, not just batteries). Check your own car by VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

CampaignReportedComponentModel years
26V3320002026-05-21AIR BAGS:SENSOR:OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION:FRONT PASSENGER2016–2020
25V4220002025-06-19POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE:DRIVESHAFT2013
24V0640002024-02-01AIR BAGS:SENSOR:OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION:FRONT PASSENGER2020
23V8580002023-12-18FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2013–2020
23V1580002023-03-09SEAT BELTS:FRONT:BUCKLE ASSEMBLY2018–2019
21V2150002021-03-25FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2019–2020

Most recent 6 shown. Source: NHTSA Recalls API (recallsByVehicle), snapshot 2026-10-21.

FAQ

What size battery does a Honda Accord take?

Verified sizes by year: Group 35 (2000–2007, 2012–2013), Group 24 (2000–2002), Group 51R (2003–2007, 2012–2017), Group 24F (2008–2017), Group 51 (2014–2015, 2017–2020), Group H5 (47) (2018–2020), Group H6 (48) (2019–2020). The exact size depends on engine and options, so use the table above for your year.

Does the Honda Accord need an AGM battery?

Our sources don't list AGM as required for the verified years. If the battery in your car says AGM on the label, replace it with another AGM.

How many cold cranking amps (CCA) does a Honda Accord need?

Minimum ratings in our sources range from 410 to 620 CCA depending on year and engine. Buying a battery with the same or higher CCA in the correct group size is fine.

Why are some Accord years missing?

We only show years we could check against a manufacturer-grade source. Not shown yet: 2008-2011 2.4L (Mopar's guide says the factory used several battery sizes in production; Interstate splits by state and transmission), 2018 2.0L (one source), 2021+ (only one source so far; it lists an EFB battery for the 1.5L).

Related

NHTSA's vehicle database lists the Accord for model years 2000–2020 in the range we checked.

Spot a mistake? Email us (opens your email app with the vehicle filled in) or see how to report an error.